Modric Vs Iniesta? Who is the better player?

Luka Modric is largely acknowledged as the greatest Croatian football player and one of the finest midfielders of all time. He primarily performs as a centre midfielder, but he is also capable of playing as an attacking or defensive midfielder. He plays for the La Liga club Real Madrid and captains the Croatia national team.

Considered one of the greatest midfielders of all time, Andrés Iniesta Luján is a Spanish professional footballer known for his skill, composure, agility and flair on the ball. A legend for FC Barcelona and Spain he has achieved a lot in his career. Since his departure, Camp Nou is yet to experience a player of his excellence and class on the field.

1: Personal Stats

Iniesta and Modric are both considered to be legends of the football field and have had glorious careers. Taking a look at their best seasons might give us a clearer idea about how they stand when viewed in comparison.


Upon looking at their best seasons in comparison we find out that Modric has an upper hand over Iniesta in this category.

Overall Stats:


After viewing their overall statistics we find out that Modric falls a little behind. Although this should also be noted that the number of goals scored by the player is almost the same even though there is a significant difference in the number of matches they have played.  Iniesta has played with some of the best attackers in his career which also helped him achieve many assists. 

2: Titles

Due to their unmatched talents and passionate gameplay, the players have attached precious awards and titles to the names of their respective teams and clubs. The two players have not only dominated La Liga and European football but also make it big on the international level.

Champions League45
La Liga93
UEFA Supercup74
Spanish Cup62
Spanish Supercup74
Japanese Supercup1N/A

Upon looking at the titles we can clearly establish that Iniesta’s career has been bejewelled with a lot more titles as compared to Modric. Hence, he is the winner of this category.

3: Individual Titles

Apart from the titles they have earned for their teams, the players have also earned some prestigious honours for themselves. The following is the list of individual honours received by the players:- 

Individual Honors of Andres Iniesta:

La Liga Best Spanish Player: 2009

La Liga Best Midfielder: 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

FIFA FIFPro World11: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

UEFA Team of the Year: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016

Onze de Bronze: 2009

UEFA Champions League top assist provider: 2010–11

ESM Team of the Year: 2010–11, 2017–18

Onze d’Argent: 2011

Marca Legend Award: 2011

UEFA Best Player in Europe Award: 2012

UEFA Euro Player of the Tournament: 2012

IFFHS World’s Best Playmaker: 2012, 2013

IFFHS World Team of the Decade 2011–2020

IFFHS UEFA Team of the Decade 2011–2020

FIFA Confederations Cup Silver Ball: 2013

La Liga top assist provider: 2012–13

Golden Foot: 2014

UEFA Champions League Squad of the Season: 2014–15, 2015–16

FIFA Club World Cup Bronze Ball: 2015

France Football World XI: 2015

La Liga Team of the Season: 2015–16

UEFA Euro All-time XI (published 2016)

J.League Best XI: 2019, 2021

Ballon d’Or Dream Team (Bronze): 2020


Individual Honors oof Luka Modric:

UEFA European Championship Team of the Tournament: 2008

Tottenham Hotspur Player of the Year: 2010–11

UEFA Champions League Team of the Season: 2013–14, 2015–16, 2016–17,2017–18,2020–21,2021–22

La Liga’s Best Midfielder: 2013–14, 2015–16

FIFA FIFPRO World 11: 2015,2016,2017,2018,2019,2022

La Liga Team of the Season: 2015–16, 2021–22,2022–23

UEFA La Liga Team of the Season: 2015–16

FIFA Club World Cup Silver Ball: 2016

ESPN Midfielder of the Year: 2016, 2017,2018

UEFA Team of the Year: 2016, 2017, 2018

UEFA Champions League Midfielder of the Season: 2016–17, 2017–18

IFFHS Men’s World Team: 2017,2018,2022

ESM Team of the Year: 2021–22

FIFA Club World Cup Golden Ball: 2017

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball: 2018

FIFA World Cup Fantasy Team: 2018

FIFA World Cup Dream Team: 2018

FIFA World Cup Bronze Ball: 2022

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award: 2017–18

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: 2018

IFFHS World’s Best Playmaker: 2018

Ballon d’Or: 2018

Goal 50: 2017–18

World Soccer Player of the Year: 2018

AIPS Athlete of the Year: 2018

Golden Foot: 2019

IFFHS World Team of the Decade: 2011–2020

IFFHS UEFA Team of the Decade: 2011–2020

Real Madrid Player of the Season: 2020–21

Marca Leyenda Award: 2022

Bosnian Premier League Player of the Year: 2003

Croatian Football Hope of the Year: 2004

HNL’s Footballer of the Year: 2007

Prva HNL Player of the Year: 2007

SN Yellow Shirt Award: 2007–08

Croatian Footballer of the Year: 2007, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021,2022

Football Oscar for Best Croatian Player: 2013,2014,2015,2016,2017,2018,2019, 2020, 2021, 2022

HNS Trophy for Best Croatian Player: 2018

HOO Sportsman of the Year: 2018

SN Sportsman of the Year: 2018,2022

Franjo Bučar State Award for Sport – Yearly Award: 2018

Honorary citizen of the city of Zadar (2018)[478][479] and Zadar County (2019)

City of Zadar Award: 2018


Modric is the only player in the last decade who broke the Ballon D’or domination of Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi. In terms of individual honours, Modric has a clear upper hand over Iniesta and hence, he is the winner of this category.

4: International Career

Luka Modric:

In Croatia’s 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign, Modrić became the new team captain, following Darijo Srna’s retirement. On 15 July 2018, Modric was awarded the Golden Ball for best player of the tournament. Modric interestingly holds the record for both the oldest and youngest goalscorer in Croatia. Although Croatia lost to Argentina in the 2022 World Cup semifinal, Modric was awarded the bronze ball for his impeccable performance.


Andrès Iniesta:

Andrès Iniesta made a strong international debut by helping his team win the UEFA European U16 championship. He was named captain several times while playing in the U21 championships for Spain. He was man of the match of the World Cup finals of 2010 which was also the first time that Spain won the World Cup. Iniesta was also chosen as the UEFA Euro 2012 Player of the Tournament. He retired from international football on 25th May 2023 and at the time of retiring was the nation’s fourth-most-capped player of all time, behind only Iker Casillas, Xavi, and Sergio Ramos.

6: Personal Life

Luka Modric:

Modric keeps a low profile when it comes to his life outside of football. His autobiography Moja igra (My Game), co-written with renowned Croatian-Italian sports writer Robert Matteoni, was published in late 2019. He also starred in the first season of Captains, a docu-series released in 2022 on Netflix.


Andrès Iniesta:

Iniesta openly talked about the depression that he faced before the 2010 FIFA World Cup as a result of his injuries and the death of Daniel Jarque. In September 2018, Iniesta alongside German footballer Lukas Podolski campaigned and donated money for the victims of the Hokkaido Eastern Iburi earthquake in Japan.

Luka Modric Or Iniesta? Who is the better player?

Upon looking at various aspects of the player’s respective careers, we can say that both of them have made a significant mark on the field of football and have gone down in the books as legends. It is very difficult to compare two such players who define perfection and has done so much for the beautiful sport. Iniesta has won more and bigger titles compared to Modric but when it comes to longevity Modric is still dominating the midfield of Real Madrid in 2023. When viewed in comparison, we can conclude that Modric runs slightly ahead of Iniesta and hence he stands as the winner of our comparison.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments